Tennisearth Logo

Last 10 Male Champions of the Australian Open

By Pawan Atri 

Reads: 4,513 , Comments: 0

facebook furl  Delicious  Stumbleupon  Digg  Mixx  Reddit  Twitter Follow Me   
Add Comment See All 0 Comments | Post Your Views
Pages  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

Last 10 Male Champions of the Australian Open

The players call it the ‘Happy Slam’, the organizers have named it as the ‘Grand Slam of the Asia Pacific’, but for the fans it’s a test of a competitor’s fitness levels because of the searing Melbourne heat, it’s a Major full of intense and prolonged baseline rallies – remember that world record 74 shot baseline exchange between Frenchmen Gilles Simon and Gael Monfils took place right here inside Melbourne Park.

Additionally, the Aussie Open is probably the most Modern Slam - after-all it has three Stadiums where play can go uninterrupted due to their retractable roofs, something that is missing from all the other Grand Slam venues. Nonetheless, player wise the last decade has been dominated by two players – Mr. Tennis Roger Federer and the Serbinator Novak Djokovic – both have won four trophies each at the Rod Laver Arena and Novak as the defending champion will be the frontrunner for a record breaking 5th trophy in Oz in 2014.

Apart from the duo, the now retired mercurial Russian Marat Safin and the World No.1 Rafael Nadal grabbed the remaining two crowns in 2005 and 2009 correspondingly. Let’s take a look at how Nole, Roger, Marat and Rafa accomplished their respective wins during the course of the last 10 years.   

Add Comment Comments Post Your Views and get tollar1000 Add Comment   | Disclaimer
Upload Photo
Shoot Your Photo with Webcam OR Upload Your Photo
Camera Rays

  • Home| About Us| Feedback| Privacy Policy| Terms & Conditions| Recommended Links| News Process|
    Write for Us|
    Copyright © 2018 |  Served By: neon