Tennisearth Logo

What is the history of the US Open?

By Gokul Pillai 

Reads: 49,802 , Comments: 1

facebook furl  Delicious  Stumbleupon  Digg  Mixx  Reddit  Twitter Follow Me   
Add Comment »See All 1 Comments | »Post Your Views
Pages  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6


The U.S. Open was formerly known as the US National tennis championships which started in 1881 in Newport Rhode Island. The venue then moved to Philadelphia and finally to New York. The U.S. Open began in 1968 with the onset of the 'Open Era' in tennis and included all five events - Men's Singles, Men's Doubles, Women's Singles, Women's Doubles and Mixed Doubles. U.S. Open was originally played on grass courts, then it moved to clay and finally on deco turf (hard court) where it remains till now. Interestingly, the most no. of wins in the men's event are tied among Richard Sears, Bill Larned and Bill Tilden. However, in the open era, Pete Sampras and Jimmy Connors are tied at 5 wins. In women, Molla Bjurstedt Mallory comes first with 8 titles whereas Chris Evert holds the record of most wins in open era with 6 titles.


Click here to have your news/article published on our site.
More Other Links:
Add Comment Comments Post Your Views and get tollar1000 Add Comment »See All 1 Comments  | Disclaimer

Posted By Micadavenport,   Posted about 2480 days and 14 hours ago

Rate Up (0)
Rate Down (0)
Report Abuse

Who knows, maybe they will add a 5th?




No Tournaments to display

News Archive

Upload Photo
Shoot Your Photo with Webcam OR Upload Your Photo
Camera Rays

  • Home| About Us| Feedback| Privacy Policy| Terms & Conditions| Recommended Links| News Process|
    Write for Us|
    Copyright © 2019 |  Served By: neon